Popcorn Prawns 🍤

 

My first cooking post …. here goes !

I thought I would start off with something quick and simple ( but delicious). On a recent trip to America myself and my husband visited Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. We had an amazing meal and fell in love with their Popcorn Shrimp served with bell peppers in a bucket . We liked them so much that when we got home i decided to try and do a take on them myself . I looked online at recipes of similar things and used ideas from them to come up with my own .

Below is a step by step of my tried and tested recipe !

INGREDIENTS 

  • Cooked and peeled prawns, I used large king prawns but any would work.
  • 3 lg eggs whites & yolks.
  • 1 cup plain flour.
  • 1/2 cup cornflour.
  • Paprika hot or smoked , I used hot.
  • Powdered chilli.
  • Powdered garlic.
  • Chilli flakes.
  • Salt & pepper.

STEP ONE

Whisk three large eggs together.

STEP TWO.

Add your prawns to the egg mix and set to one side.

STEP THREE.

IMG_0967.JPG

Mix the plain flour with the cornflour. Add two table spoons of praprika , two table spoons of chilli powder , one table spoon of chilli flakes, one tea spoon of garlic . And a pinch of salt and pepper. Mix together until blended well.

 

STEP FOUR.

Take a few prawns at a time from the egg mix and toss them in the seasoned flour mixture until well coated . Repeat for all .

 STEP FIVE.

Place the prawns in your fryer basket in batches and fry at 190 for around five mins . I have quite a small fryer so you may be able to get all of your prawns done in one go. Once crisp and golden place on paper towels to soak up excess oil and serve with a dipping sauce .I served mine with paprika wedges and sweet chilli sauce ENJOY !!!!!

img_1007

img_0988

 

Leave a Reply

